When I check the oil, should I screw the dipstick in? And is my dipstick supposed to have an o-ring? Some other airheads have them, do I need it? Will a rubber O-ring from the hardware store work?

This oil checking and dipstick o-ring question issue keeps coming up.

Maybe I can shed some light. For those who don't know me, I'm a BMW mechanic with 27+ years of motorcycle experience. I have uncrated, sold, serviced, tended, modified and restored virtually every model of BMW built from 1970 to 2002. So much for the credentials.

On the question of checking the oil:

1) Unscrew and wipe off the dipstick. Insert dipstick into the hole until the first thread touches. Don't screw it in. Lift the dipstick out carefully. If you see oil between the engraved lines, your oil level is good.

If it is below the lower mark, add 1/2 quart and check again. Don't be tempted to overfill. If the level comes up BETWEEN the lines, leave it alone.

I run ALL BMW airheads 10mm below the top line. This change alone can reduce oil consumption noticeably in the R90 and R100 models. That's it. Don't carefully add oil up to the upper line. Get it BETWEEN the lines and LEAVE IT ALONE.

2) BMW changed the dipstick top to a plastic material beginning with the 1981 US models. This type dipstick incorporated an o-ring as part of the sealing scheme. The 1970-1980 models were fitted with an aluminum-topped dipstick with an asbestos-filled crush ring for sealing.

There's a lot of uninformed braying on the list about adding a dipstick o-ring. DON'T. The aluminum (earlier) dipstick WAS NOT DESIGNED FOR AN O-RING! (Sorry for yelling) Adding an o-ring to this type dipstick will lead to the o-ring splitting, the dipstick unscrewing, oil leakage, or, at the very least, introduction of air into the crankcase, which can lead to premature seal failures.